Pink Ball Test: Shreya’s Iyer’s beaming 92 lifts India to 252 against Sri Lanka in Bengaluru

Shreyas Iyer was the last Indian batter to leave when he hit a 98-ball 92 before Sri Lanka knocked India out for 252 on day one of the ongoing Pink Ball Test in Bengaluru.

Pink Ball Test: Shreyas Iyer hits a brilliant 92 as Sri Lanka throws India for 252 in Bengaluru (AP Photo)

Pink Ball Test: Shreyas Iyer hits a brilliant 92 as Sri Lanka throws India for 252 in Bengaluru (AP Photo)


  • India is thrown out on a spin-assisted pitch for 252 during the lunch break
  • Shreyas Iyer was at a loss for 92 in the last 2nd session delivery
  • Shreyas walked away to loud applause from the crowd at the Chinnaswamy

Shreyas Iyer hit a smashing 98-ball 92 to help India one in his first innings on a spin-assist pitch on the dinner break on Day 1 of the ongoing day-night Test at Bengaluru’s M.Chinnaswamy Stadium to achieve a competitive aggregate score of 252 against Sri Lanka.

Iyer was India’s top scorer, falling eight runs short of his century when he was stumped, the last wicket to fall in the innings. Iyer became the fourth Indian batter to walk away stumped in the jittery ’90s, following Dilip Vengsarkar, Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag.

India vs Sri Lanka Pink Ball Test Day 1 Live Result

Indians are at a loss in the 90s (tests)
96D Vengsarkar v Pak Chennai 1987
90 S Tendulkar vs Eng Bengaluru 2001
99 V. Sehwag vs. SL Colombo SSC 2010
92 S Iyer – SL Bengaluru 2022

India struggled at 126-five at times, but Rishabh Pant (39 balls from 26) turned it around with his aggressive but effective hitting. The left-hander was dropped when he was on four and he made Lanker pay heavily for the error.

Iyer then changed the narrative with his controlled aggression, the result of which was a hard hit under pressure that will allow India to call the shots in the day-night game.

His entertaining shot, coming from 98 balls, had 10 fours and four sixes, negating all the fine work of the visiting bowlers in the first session as they captured four wickets including that of skipper Rohit Sharma (15) and Virat Kohli (23 ).

Left-arm spinners Lasith Embuldeniya (3/94) and Praveen Jayawickrama (3/81) each conceded three wickets for Sri Lanka.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *