IPL 2022: DC field only 2 foreign players against MI while captain Rishabh Pant tries to name XI on toss


In a rare Indian Premier League (IPL) incident, only two foreign players were used by Delhi Capitals in their opening match of the 2022 season against five-time champions Mumbai Indians at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

Delhi Capitals only played 2 overseas players due to player availability issues, becoming the first team to do so since Kolkata Knight Riders in 2011. Rishabh Pant won the draw, with Delhi fielding New Zealand’s Tim Seifert and West Indies big-hitter Rovman Powell as the two foreign players.

DC vs MI, IPL 2022: Live Updates

By the way, after winning the draw, Pant had fun trying to name the entire XI. While in the past we’ve seen captains struggle to even remember the team changes, Pant nearly managed the feat of naming the XI for Delhi Capitals.

Delhi is missing the likes of David Warner who recently completed the Test series with Australia in Pakistan and Anrich Nortje who has joined the DC camp but is still recovering from a hip injury that kept him out of competition for almost 6 months Has .

Pant was delighted to win the toss against Rohit Sharma’s men as he added that he wanted to get the call at the coin toss right at Brabourne Stadium, which is hosting an IPL match for the first time since 2015.

“The first thing we wanted was to win the toss. I think the wicket looks good to take. In domestic cricket we’ve played enough here and we’ll be fine,” said Pant.


Meanwhile, Rohit, who is leading the Mumbai Indians in all formats for the first time since being named India’s full-time captain, said he also wanted to bowl first at Brabourne court.

“We would have bowled first. It’s a fresh pitch and we don’t know what to expect. It looks like a good trajectory and there would be a bit of movement due to the green cast. Whenever we play in Mumbai, we have to adapt quickly because the wickets are fresh,” said Rohit.

Mumbai had no less than 5 fresh faces as they presented debuts to the likes of Tim David, Tilak Verma, Tymal Mills, Murugan Ashwin and Daniel Sams.

Play DC vs MI, IPL 2022 XIs

Mumbai (Player XI) – Ishan Kishan (WK), Rohit Sharma (C), Tilak Varma, Anmolpreet Singh, Kieron Pollard, Tim David, Daniel Sams, Murugan Ashwin, Tymal Mills, Jasprit Bumrah, Basil Thampi.

Delhi (Player XI) – Prithvi Shaw, Tim Seifert, Mandeep Singh, Rishabh Pant (C/WK), Rovman Powell, Lalit Yadav, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Khaleel Ahmed, Kuldeep Yadav, Kamlesh Nagarkoti.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *