IPL 2022: Gujarat Titans name Rashid Khan vice-captain ahead of debut game against Lucknow Super Giants


The Gujarat Titans on Sunday named Afghan spinner Rashid Khan as their vice-captain ahead of Monday’s 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) opening game against the Lucknow Super Giants in Mumbai. Rashid was pre-auction picked by Gujarat Titans for INR 15 crore, the same amount they paid for skipper Hardik Pandya.

The Gujarat Titans made an official announcement on their social media profile, posting an adorable picture of Hardik and Rashid laughing together. “In another #SeasonOfFirsts, Rashid Bhai will become our vice-captain,” the post’s caption read.

Rashid has the experience of leading the Afghanistan national cricket team in international cricket. Under his leadership, Afghanistan won 1 Test match, 1 ODI and four T20Is. He resigned as Afghanistan’s T20I captain prior to the start of the previous T20 World Championship.

Meanwhile, Rashid Khan is excited at the prospect of playing alongside Hardik Pandya for the Gujarat Titans. The duo have never played together as they have represented different teams in the IPL until now, but the leg spinner has touted the Titans’ skipper as the one with the positive vibes.

Gujarat selected Hardik (Rs 15 crore), Rashid (Rs 15 crore) and Shubman Gill (Rs 7 crore) as draft picks ahead of the IPL 2022 Mega Auction held earlier this month.

Gujarat Titans head coach Ashish Nehra said he was pleased with the franchise’s strong all-around roster, which is making its Indian Premier League (IPL) debut.

The Gujarat Titans squad also includes hard-hitting England opener Jason Roy, Australia wicketkeeper Matthew Wade, senior Indian pacesetter Mohammad Shami and speedy New Zealander Lockie Ferguson.

Full Gujarat Titans squad for IPL 2022
Retained Players:
Shubman Gill, Hardik Pandya and Rashid Khan

Auctioned players: JAson Roy, Mohammad Shami, Lockie Ferguson, Abhinav Sadarangani, Rahul Tewatia, Noor Ahmad, R Sai Kishore, Dominic Drakes, Jayant Yadav, Vijay Shankar, Darshan Nalkande, Yash Dayal, Alzarri Joseph, Pradeep Sangwan, David Miller, Wriddhiman Saha, Matthew Wade, Gurkerat Singh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *