IPL 2022 Full Schedule: CSK vs. KKR in 1st game of season with 10 teams in Wankhede, final on May 29th


The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the full 2022 Indian Premier League schedule on Sunday. The 10-team IPL season kicks off on March 26 with a marquee match between Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders, a repeat of last year’s final at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium.

The BCCI previously announced there will be 70 league games in the 10-team season as two new teams join the bandwagon in Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans. The games will be played at 4 Venus in Mumbai and Pune. The final of the IPL 2022 will take place on May 29th.

IPL 2022: New format explained

The 10 teams were drawn into 2 groups of 5 teams each. In contrast to football competitions, the BCCI did not rely on a draw, but divided the 10 teams into groups according to the number of titles won and the number of finals reached.

12 duplicate headers in IPL 2022

The 5-time champions Mumbai Indians will start their campaign on March 27th which will be the first of 12 double= headers in the league phase of the IPL 2022.

“There will be 12 double headers in total, with the first game starting at 3:30pm IST. All evening games begin at 7:30 p.m. IST,” the IPL said.

“A total of 20 games each will be played at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium, and 15 games each at Brabourne and MCA International Stadium in Pune.”

Punjab Kings meets Royal Challengers Bangalore in the second game on March 27th.

The teams have been split into two virtual groups, with Mumbai Indians, the most successful team, leading Group A. Chennai Super Kings with 4 titles, Group B


New teams Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants begin their campaigns on Monday 28th March.

SunRisers Hyderabad and Rajasthan Royals will be the last two teams to start their campaigns on March 29th.

There will be a total of 74 games in IPL 2022, with the BCCI deciding the games and venues for the play-offs at a later date. Each team will play 14 games in the league phase.

Since each team is scheduled to play 14 games in the league stage, a team plays twice with the teams in its group and with the team in the same row in the second group. For example, in the table above, MI and CSK are in the same row even though they are in different groups.

With the other teams in the second group, they only play once during the season.


IPL 2022 Schedule: First 40 Match Schedules (IPL Screengrab)

IPL 2022 Schedule: Fixtures for Next 38 Games (IPL Screengrab)

The Chennai Super Kings will look to defend their title but it won’t be easy as 10 teams will battle it out for the ultimate prize when the Indian Premier League returns home.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *