IPL 2022: Delhi Capitals Team Profile

Delhi Capitals are set to enter the 2022 Indian Premier League (IPL) season in a bid to end the wait for an elusive title. Led by Rishabh Pant, Delhi has assembled a well-rounded squad despite sacking some of its star players at the IPL 2022 mega-auction.

All eyes will be on the combination between head coach Ricky Ponting and captain Pant as Delhi look to build on the good run of the past two years. They will be without two of their key performers of recent seasons – Shreyas Iyer and Kagiso Rabada.

Delhi Capitals retained Pant, Anrich Nortje, Prithvi Shaw and Axar Patel, keeping the core group of young players who will serve the franchise for years to come. While Pant, Axar and Nortje are also key stars for their national teams, Shaw will be looking to make a difference at the 2022 IPL and re-enter the Indian team’s reckoning.


Delhi Capitals was one of the few sides actively trying to get their former players back at the IPL 2022 Mega Auction. They even bid for former captain Shreyas Iyer, who left the franchise to lead the Kolkata Knight Riders.

Delhi Capitals also let go of R Ashwin and Amit Mishra but they added some high profile players fighting for the IPL 2022 title.

Delhi have a strong core group of batsmen after bringing in Australian opener and former SunRisers Hyderabad captain David Warner. They also secured the services of in-form Mumbai batsman Sarfaraz Khan, India U19 World Cup captain Yash Dhull and Mandeep Singh.

They have three good wicketkeepers in pant, KS Bharat and New Zealand big hitter Tim Seifert.

When it comes to all-rounders, Delhi goes for quality over quantity, enlisting the services of Shardul Thakur, Axar, Mitchell Marsh, Ripal Patel and Lalit Yadav.

Delhi left Rabada but they bought the likes of Mustafizur Rahman, Khaleel Ahmed, Lungi Ngidi, Kamlesh Nagarkoti and Chetan Sakariya.

The spin bowling department is overseen by U19 World Cup star Vicky Ostwal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar and Praveen Dubey.

All eyes will be on Ricky Ponting and his assistant coach Shane Watson as Delhi have a strong support group.


Retained Players: Rishabh Pant, Axar Patel, Prithvi Shaw, and Anrich Nortje.

Player auctioned: David Warner, Mitch Marsh, Shardul Thakur, Mustafizur Rahman, Kuldeep Yadav, Ashwin Hebbar, Kamlesh Nagarkoti, KS Bharat, Sarfaraz Khan, Mandeep Singh, Syed Khaleel Ahmed, Chetan Sakariya, Lalit Yadav, Ripal Patel, Yash Dhull, Rovman Powell, Pravin Dubey, Lungisani Ngidi, Tim Seifert, and Vicky Ostwal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *