India equals world record for most consecutive wins in T20I after beating Sri Lanka at Dharamsala in 3rd T20I


India v Sri Lanka: Rohit Sharma’s men set world record for most consecutive wins in T20I cricket Their 6-wicket win over Sri Lanka on Sunday in Dharamsala was their 12th straight win in the game’s shortest format.

India defeated Sri Lanka by 6 wickets on Sunday to extend their winning streak to 12 in T20Is (AP Photo)


  • India extended their winning streak in T20Is to 12
  • It was also her 40th T20I home win, the highest in cricket in the world
  • This is also India’s 17th win over Sri Lanka in T20I cricket

The Indian team, led by Rohit Sharma, recorded their 12th consecutive T20I victory, tying Afghanistan’s record for most T20I wins in a Test nation’s trot.

The unbeaten run began during the T20 World Cup as India shrugged off crucial defeats to Pakistan and New Zealand, winning the remaining three games. India were eliminated before the tournament closed for business, but the Men in Blue have been clinical in the game’s shortest format ever since.

The Indian juggernaut in T20Is continued as they hammered Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in the 3rd T20I at Dharamsala on Sunday. The Asian giants, world no.

Dasun Shanka’s brave 74 went in vain as Sri Lanka could not defend itself 146 in the 3rd T20I and has lost all three games on her tour so far.

India vs. Sri Lanka, 3rd T20I: highlights

Rohit Sharma, who replaced India’s full-time captain Virat Kohli after the World Cup, led India to a 3-0 home win against New Zealand last year. He was also instrumental in India beating West Indies 3-0 earlier this month.


India 12* – 2021 to 2022
Romania – 12* – 2019 to 2021
Afghanistan – 12 – 2018 to 2019

India also overtook New Zealand with their 40th home win in their third T20I. Prior to this game, India and New Zealand had each won 39 T20Is in their respective home countries.

It is also India’s 17th win against Sri Lanka in this format, another record for most wins against any given side.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *