CSK vs. KKR: Dwayne Bravo equals Lasith Malinga’s record for most IP wickets


IPL 2022: Dwayne Bravo equaled Lasith Malinga’s record for most wickets in IPL history after posting brave figures of 3/20 in CSK’s season-opening loss to KKR in Mumbai on Saturday in Mumbai.

Bravo equals Malinga’s all-time record with 3 wickets in the IPL opening game (Cortesy by BCCI/PTI)


  • Bravo ended CSK’s loss to KKR on numbers of 3/20
  • Bravo reached 170 IPL wickets, level with Lasith Malinga
  • Bravo’s efforts were in vain at the 2022 IPL opener

Chennai Super Kings star Dwayne Bravo equaled Lasith Malinga’s record for most wickets in the Indian Premier League. The veteran warhorse put on a brave display with the ball in CSK’s 6-wicket loss to Kolkata Knght Riders in the opener of IPL 2022 at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium.

With numbers of 3/20 keeping Chennai’s hopes alive after they managed a paltry 131 total, Bravo Malinga joined at the top of the wicket-taker list in the IPL. After the wicket of KKR’s new recruit Sam Billings in his final on Saturday, Bravo rose to 170 scalps.

Highlights of CSK vs KKR, IPL 2022 | report

Bravo achieved the milestone in his 151st IPL game in what turned out to be a largely unforgettable affair for CSK beginning a new era under Ravindra Jadeja’s captaincy.

Remarkably, Malinga had finished his IPL career with 170 wickets from just 122 games, having featured in the Mumbai Indians’ winning campaigns over the years. The former Sri Lankan fast bowler has taken on the role of bowling coach for the Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2022.


  1. Lasith Malinga – 170 goals in 122 games
  2. Dwayne Bravo – 170 goals in 151 games
  3. Amit Mishra – 166 goals in 154 games
  4. Piyush Chawla – 157 goals in 165 games
  5. Harbhajan Singh – 150 wickets in 160 games

Bravo’s effort with the ball wasn’t enough as KKR successfully chased 151 with 9 balls and 6 wickets to spare. Ajinkya Rahane, who made his KKR debut on Saturday, shone with a Quickfire 46, while handy cameos from Sam Billings and Nitish Rana helped the two-time champion avenge his loss to CSK in last year’s finals.

Also Read | MS Dhoni makes fans reminisce as he becomes the oldest Indian to reach half a century of IPL

Also Read | Although MS Dhoni gives up the captaincy, MS Dhoni assumes responsibility for the field after a discussion with coach Fleming

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *