An IPL without MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli as captain


Legendary skipper MS Dhoni’s decision to hand over the captaincy of the Chennai Super Kings to star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja two days ahead of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022 has sent shockwaves through the cricket fraternity. Confirming the development on their social media account, CSK went on to say that Dhoni will continue to “represent Chennai Super Kings this season and beyond”.

The sudden announcement of Chennai Super Kings marked the end of an era in the Indian Premier League as IPL 2022 will be the first edition of the Premier tournament without MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli topping a franchise. Kohli in particular relinquished RCB captaincy after completing Bangalore’s campaign in IPL 2021 in the UAE.

The world champion captain was always his own man when it came to leaving the captaincy or announcing his retirement. He resigned as Test captain and also played the five-day game in the middle of a series in Australia in 2014. And when he was sure Virat Kohli was ready to lead India across formats, Dhoni made way for him in 2017.

MS Dhoni, one of the most talismanic leaders the sport of cricket has ever seen, and Virat Kohli, the superhuman captain, have been the figureheads of the well-funded T20 league since its inception in 2008. The much acclaimed image of the two giants of Indian cricket pitching each other during the IPL is now a thing of the past.

Dhoni and Kohli have of course had several encounters as opposing IPL captains over the past decade. Kohli, 29, was named Royal Challengers Bangalore skipper in 2013 while Dhoni has spearheaded Chennai Super Kings since the league’s inception.

Virat Kohli’s captaincy record in IPL

Play as Captain – 140
Won – 66
Profit% – 47.16
IPL Title – 0

In the last 11 years, Kohli has led RCB in 140 games. He won 66 and lost 70 as skipper of the highly acclaimed franchise. With the bat, Kohli hardly let RCB down as he hit 4,871 runs, including 500, in 139 innings.

Virat Kohli’s reaction to the RCB captain’s departure: The RCB star also quit as India’s T20I captain last year before being sacked as ODI captain. Kohli also resigned as India’s Test captain in an unforeseen call earlier this year after the Asian giants suffered a 2-1 defeat in a 3-Test series in South Africa.

“I’m not one to hold onto things any more than I should. Even knowing I can do a lot more, I won’t do it if I don’t enjoy the process,” Kohli said on The RCB Podcast.

“Because it’s very difficult for people to understand your choices unless they’re in your situation. From the outside, people have their own expectations of ‘Oh! How did this happen? We’re so shocked,'” he added.

MS Dhoni captain’s record in IPL

Play as Captain – 204
Won – 121
Profit% – 59.6
IPL Title – 4th

In the 204 games in which he has managed CSK’s team, the team has won 121 times with a commendable win ratio of 59.60. While 82 games for the Chennai Super Kings ended in defeat, one game remained without a result.

Statement by CSK on the departure of MS Dhoni’s captain: “MS Dhoni has decided to hand over leadership of Chennai Super Kings and has selected Ravindra Jadeja to lead the team. Jadeja, who has been an integral part of Chennai Super Kings since 2012, will become only the third player to lead CSK,” CSK said said in a statement.

“Dhoni will continue to represent Chennai Super Kings this season and beyond,” the franchise added in the statement. The 40-year-old Dhoni, who announced his retirement from the national team after the 2019 World Cup, led CSK to their fourth title last season.

MS Dhoni is the most famous Indian captain. He led India to glory at the 2007 T20 World Championship, the 2011 ODI World Championship and the 2013 Champions Trophy. In the IPL, Dhoni was synonymous with the Super Kings, leading them to 4 title triumphs. After a poor season in 2020, MS Dhoni faced criticism before storming back to win the 2021 IPL.

MS Dhoni’s shock announcement ahead of IPL 2022 will surely disappoint fans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *