Sri Lanka announce Test squad, replacements for injured Theekshana and Mendis for T20I series against India


Sri Lanka announced an 18-man squad for the 2 Test series against India. The SLC also confirmed that Niroshan Dickwella and Dananjaya de Silva will join the T20I squad in place of the injured Maheesh Theekshana and Kusal Mendis.

Dimuth Karunaratne leads Sri Lanka in two Test series against India (AFP Photo)


  • Dimuth Karunaratne will lead Sri Lanka in the 2 Test series
  • Sri Lanka also announced Dickwella and de Silva as replacements for the T20I series
  • SLC confirmed Maheesh Theekshana and Wanindu Hasaranga will return home

Sri Lanka on Friday announced an 18-man Test squad for the upcoming two-match series against India. The two teams will contest the first test in Mohali starting March 5 and the second, a pink ball test, in Bengaluru starting March 12.

The Sri Lanka Cricket Board also announced replacements for injured spinner Maheesh Theekshana and batsman Kusal Mendis for the ongoing T20I series against India. Niroshan Dickwella and Dhananjaya De Silva have been drafted into the T20I squad, the SLC said. According to SLC, Theekshna and Mendis suffered a hamstring injury during their tour of Australia earlier this month that saw them lose a 5-game streak 4-1.

Meanwhile, Wanindu Hasaranga, who has been sidelined from the T20I series after prolonged Covid-19 isolation in Australia, will return to Sri Lanka, the board confirmed.

“Maheesh Theekshana will return home while Wanindu Hasaranga will also return home from Australia,” the SLC added.

Meanwhile, Dimuth Karunaratne will lead Sri Lanka in the Test series while Dhananjaya de Silva will be his deputy. Kusal Mendis has been included in the squad but his availability will depend on fitness.

Sri Lanka Test Squad for India Series

  • Captain Dimuth Karunaratne
  • Pathum Nissanka
  • Lahiru Thirimane
  • Dhananjaya de Silva Vice Captain
  • Kusal Mendis is subject to fitness
  • Angelo Mathews
  • Dinesh Chandimal
  • Charith Asalanka
  • Niroshan Dickwella
  • Chamika Karunaratne
  • Ramesh Mendis will not be taking part due to injury
  • Lahiru Kumara
  • Suranga Lakmal
  • Dushmantha Chameera
  • Vishwa Fernando
  • Jeffrey Vandersay
  • Praveen Jayawickrema
  • Lasith Embuldeniya

Fast bowler Suranga Lakmal returns to the Test squad and will be partners with Dushmantha Chameera and Vishwa Fernando. With Lasith Embuldeniya, Jeffrey Vandersay and Praveen Jayawickrema, Sri Lanka has a strong spin attack for the Test series.

Sri Lanka lost the first T20I of the 3 match series in Lucknow on Thursday. Ishan Kishan had an 89 match win while India hit 199 before stealing a 62-run win. The two teams will meet in the 2nd T20I in Dharamsala on Saturday 26 February.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *