IPL 2022 Venues: Mumbai – Sports News


IPL 2022 Venues: Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai will each host 20 matches in the league phase of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022.

The 15th edition of the Indian Premier League will be played in four stadiums at two venues in the country – Mumbai and Pune.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has created biobubbles for the tournament to be held due to the rising number of Covid-19 cases.

The IPL will have 70 league games this time, with the addition of two new teams, the Lucknow Super Giants and the Gujarat Titans. The BCCI also detailed the format of the league stage and said a decision on the play-off venues would be made later.

As per match breakdown, 20 matches each will be played at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai. 15 games each will be played at Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai and MCA International Stadium in Pune.

Here is the rest of the breakdown as explained in the BCCI publication:

All teams play:

4 games each at Wankhede Stadium and DY Patil Stadium.

3 games each at Brabourne Stadium (CCI) and MCA International Stadium, Pune.

The 10 teams play a total of 14 league games (7 home and 7 away), making a total of 70 league games, followed by the 4 playoff games. Each team plays 5 teams twice and the remaining 4 teams only once (2 only home and 2 only away).

To decide, teams were divided into two virtual groups based on the number of IPL championships won, followed by the number of finals matches played by each team.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *