IPL 2022: Two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders step into a new era under third-title Shreyas Iyer


Two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders will be battling to become only the third team in Indian Premier League history to win three IPL titles when they complete the 15th edition of the lucrative T20 league led by Indian star Shreyas Iyer start.

Since their opening match in the first edition of IPL, KKR have been a promising side and also winners of two IPL titles (in 2012 and 2014 under captain Gautam Gambhir), but it’s been a long time since the Kolkata-based franchise made it to the top. With the great IPL auction KKR had, it’s time to shine again.

IPL 2022 Schedule: Full League Match Schedules

After untying former captains Eoin Morgan and Dinesh Karthik, Kolkata roped in Shreyas Iyer, indicating a long-term plan. However, it remains to be seen how Shreyas will lead the team and pay off the trust and freedoms entrusted to KKR management. KKR head coach Brendon McCullum has also given reassurances that the side will play a positive brand of cricket this season under new captain Iyer.

Shreyas, who guided Delhi Capitals to the 2020 final, has a good cricket brain and has demonstrated his leadership skills during his time as DC captain. Remarkably, the Indian star-batter was bought by KKR for Rs 12.25 crore at the mega-auction last month and then team management appointed him skipper ahead of pacer Pat Cummins, who leads the Australian Test team.

team composition

Kolkata spotted a fine young talent in the form of Venkatesh Iyer last year and given the form he has shown up front he is poised to open the innings for the side in the 2022 IPL. However, KKR must find a suitable opening partner for Venkatesh following Shubman Gill’s exit. Veteran Indian batter Ajinkya Rahane could be a viable option alongside Venkatesh, with captain Shreyas beating Iyer in 3rd and Nitish Rana in 4th.

England wicketkeeper Sam Billings, West Indian all-rounder duo Sunil Narine and Andre Russell and Australian pacesetter Pat Cummins could be the four foreign players. KKR has a lineup that is more than capable of wreaking all kinds of havoc on their day. With Cummins absent, the trio of Tim Southee, Umesh Yadav and Shivam Mavi could be part of the pace bowling contingent for the two-time IPL champion.

key figures

Andre Russel: The West Indian all-rounder has been a key part of the KKR squad in recent seasons after helping them win games with his deadly bowling and T20 format powerhouses. He is undoubtedly the most dangerous and game-changing hitter in the KKR roster. What is certain is that all eyes will be on him next season when there is a knock at the door.

Shreyas Iyer: The KKR captain is known for taking on the role of a perfect anchor. Iyer spent a considerable amount of time away from the game last year due to a shoulder injury but he is now back in the process of scoring runs with the Indian side and will be looking to prove a point or two. Had it not been for that injury he might still have led the Delhi Capitals to this day. He led DC to the IPL 2020 finals and has been a consistent performer for them.

Also, Sunil Narine was a world-class player and an IPL great, while Venkatesh Iyer and Varun Chakravarthy are two of the most talented T20 players in India who came on the back of impressive campaigns last year. Add Pat Cummins to this mix and KKR has six sure-fire match winners in their ranks.

Possible Play XI: Venkatesh Iyer, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer (C), Nitish Rana, Sam Billings (WK), Andre Russell, Sunil Narine, 8th Shivam Mavi, Pat Cummins, Varun Chakravarthy and Umesh Yadav

IPL 2022 begins on March 26th when KKR takes on defending champions Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the first game of the season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *