IPL 2022: Chennai Super King’s team profile

Defending champions Chennai Super Kings will look to continue their winning streak as they prepare to defend their title in the Indian Premier League (IPL) this season. CSK is one title away from tying the Mumbai Indians’ record for most IPL titles in league history.

MS Dhoni will once again lead a well-placed team that has covered most of the bases for the new season. Last year they already achieved what they were looking for, winning their fourth IPL title, and will be eyeing another milestone as they attempt to capture a second straight season as title winners.

IPL 2022 Mega Auction

The Chennai Super Kings did what they are known for. Keep the faith and try to rebuild the core of the starting XI. Nine of the players signed by the defending champions were from CSK last season, giving MS Dhoni a great deal of continuity.

However, they failed to recapture experienced Faf du Plessis and Shardul Thakur, who had done well as all-rounders last year. Devon Conway is likely to replace Faf du Plessis. And Deepak Chahar, her most expensive pick at the auction, might even be called upon to do more at-bat this season.

Management has also hired the likes of Rajvardhan Hangargekar, indicating their investment in youth. This could be a positive move as teams are now moving towards a core strength phenomenon where they wish to retain the core of their team for a long period of time.

When the 25-man Chennai team is broken down into batters, bowlers, all-rounders and wicket-keepers categories, the fewest number of players are in the batter’s column aside from the wicket-keepers. However, champion duo Stephen Fleming and Dhoni are known for doing things differently and finding a way to make them work.

Chennai Super Kings squad:

MS Dhoni (C), Moeen Ali, Ravindra Jadeja and Ruturaj Gaikwad, Robin Uthappa, Dwayne Bravo, Ambati Rayudu, Deepak Chahar, KM Asif, Tushar Deshpande, Shivam Dube, Maheesh Theekshana, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, Simarjeet Singh, Devon Conway, Dwaine Pretorius , Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Subhranshu Senapati, Mukesh Choudhary, Prashant Solanki, C Hari Nishaanth, N Jagadeesan, Chris Jordan, K Bhagath Varma

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *