Dasun Shanaka leads Sri Lanka in 3-match T20I series against India with injured Avishka Fernando out


India vs. Sri Lanka: Dasun Shanaka will lead an 18-man Sri Lankan squad that boasts a strong spin bowling arsenal in the upcoming 3-match T20I series which begins on February 24th.

Dasun Shanaka will lead Sri Lanka in T20I series in India (AP Photo)


  • Sri Lanka will play 3 T20Is against India on February 24-27
  • Sri Lanka has named a powerful spin bowling unit for the T20I series
  • Sri Lanka travel to India after losing 4-1 to Australia in Australia

Sri Lanka on Monday announced an 18-man squad for the 3-game T20I series against India to be played in Lucknow and Dharamsala from 24-27 February. While Dasun Shnaka will continue to lead the team, Avishka Fernando, Nuwan Thushara, and Ramesh Medis have been left out.

Charith Asalanka will be Shanaka’s deputy in the Match 3 series while players like Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Dinesh Chandimal and Danushka Gunathilaka are part of the squad.

Youth and Sports Minister Namal Rajapaksa approved the squad below, Sri Lanka Cricket said in a statement.

Sri Lanka heads to India with a strong spin bowling arsenal led by Wanindu Hasaranga who will do it play for Royal Challengers Bangalore after being bought at the mega auction for Rs 10.75 crore.

Mahesh Theekshana and Jeffrey Vandersay are part of the spin bowling attack along with off-spinner Ashian Daniel (who will be part of the team subject to the Minister’s approval).


01) Captain Dasun Shanaka

02) Pathum Nissanka

03) Kusal Mendis

04) Charith Asalanka Vice-Captain

05) Dinesh Chandimal

06) Danushka Gunathilaka

07) Kamil Mishara

08) Janith Liyanage

09) Wanindu Hasaranga

10) Chamika Karunaratne

11) Dushmantha Chameera

12) Lahiru Kumara

13) Binura Fernando

14) Schiran Fernando

15) Mahish Theekshana

16) Jeffrey Vandersay

17) Praveen Jayawickrama

18) Ashian Daniel Subject to ministerial approval

Sri Lanka travel to India after losing a 5-game T20I series in Australia 4-1.

Last week India announced their 18-man T20I squad for the upcoming series. While Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant received bio bubble breaks, players like Jasprit Bumrah and Ravindra Jadeja are returning to the side.

Rohit Sharma will lead the Indian side, which has returned to No. 1 in the ICC T20I rankings after beating West Indies 3-0 in a recently concluded series in Kolkata.

Click here for Peppystores.in’s full coverage of the coronavirus pandemic.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *