Australia rests Pat Cummins, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell for limited overs series against Pakistan


Star opener David Warner, Test captain Pat Cummins and all-rounder Glenn Maxwell were among the big names left out of Australia’s 16-man white-ball squad named for the Pakistan series on Tuesday.

Cummins and Warner were included in the squad for Australia’s three-Test tour of Pakistan, along with bowlers Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood and Nathan Lyon, but will no longer be involved once that series has concluded.

Australia will make their first trip to Pakistan since 1998, playing friendly matches in Rawalpindi, Karachi and Lahore before returning to Rawalpindi for limited overs matches from March 29th to April 5th.

Aaron Finch will lead a 16-man limited overs squad that includes tryouts Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marnus Labuschagne and Steve Smith.

“We have selected a talented and well-rounded squad with a number of challenges to juggle,” National Selector George Bailey said in a statement.

“(These include) the predominantly 50-game tour structure, the medium to long-term management of multiple multi-format players, and our need to build experience and depth in preparation for two short-form World Cups within the next 18 months.

“We are confident that the squad can both compete successfully on this tour and continue our progress towards these crucial tournaments.”

The one-day international series begins on March 29th with additional games on March 31st and April 2nd. The teams will then meet on April 5th in a one-off T20 match.

Australia limited overs squad: Aaron Finch, Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Jason Behrendorff, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitchell Marsh, Ben McDermott, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Marcus Stoinis, Adam Zampa.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *