3. T20I: The unstoppable Shreyas Iyer helps India decimate Sri Lanka, finishing 3rd straight win 3-0


India completed their third 3-0 consecutive T20I series win as they beat Sri Lanka by 6 wickets in their third and final T20I on Sunday in Dharamsala. After gunning down 184 in just 17.1 overs in Saturday’s 2nd T20I in just 17.1 overs, India made easy work of with a 147-run goal in the series final against the visiting islanders.

Under Rohit Sharma, India began the journey after the T20 World Cup with a 3-0 home win over New Zealand last year. They then beat West Indies 3-0 earlier this month to move to the top of the ICC T20I rankings. And with the victory over Sri Lanka, India will retain the position of numero uno.

India vs. Sri Lanka, 3rd T20I: highlights

Sunday’s win over Sri Lanka also helped India extend their T20Is win streak to 12 as they equaled the world record for most consecutive wins in the shortest format of the match.

SHREYAS IYER: 204 runs without losing his wicket

India rode another superb hitting performance from Shreyas Iyer, who appears to be pushing for more regular appearances in the XI in T20Is. Iyer finished the series against Sri Lanka with 3 consecutive fifties and was never dismissed by the visiting bowlers once in the series.

Shreyas finished the series with 204 runs, single-handedly decimating Sri Lanka with the racquet in the series.

The Mumbai batsman had just one chance in the T20I series against the West Indies as India opted for Virat Kohli and Suryakumar Yadav in mid-ranking.

However, in the absence of Kohli and Suryakumar, Iyer got an extended run at No. 3 in the series against Sri Lanka. The newly appointed Kolkata Knight Riders captain hit 73 from just 45 balls in the 3rd T20I and ensured India crossed the finish line despite losing early to captain Rohit for the 2nd year in a row.

Iyer kept the scoreboard at a brisk pace from the start. Although Iyer frequently lost partners, he never took his foot off the pedal and punished the Sri Lankan bowlers every time they came close to missing the mark.

Iyer hit 9 limits and a six for his match-winning show. Iyer was also the second India baiter, after Virat Kohli, to hit three consecutive fifties in a T20I series.

India received decent contributions from Sanju Samson, 18, after the Kerala wicketkeeper batter was asked to open the batting in the absence of Ishan Kishan, who suffered a blow to the head on Saturday.

Deepak Hooda, who was promoted to 4th, hit 21 of 16 before being sacked by Lahiru Kumara.

India loses Venkatesh Iyer (5) cheaply but Ravindra Jadeja continued his rich form, hitting 22 balls from just 15.

Dasun Shaka’s lone fighter effort in vain

Sri Lankan captain Dasun Shanaka was the savior once again with 74 not from 38 balls that nearly took his team to the 150 run mark. Shanaka hit nine fours and two sixes.

But it was Avesh (4-1-23-2) and Siraj (4-0-22-1) who were just dissecting the Lankan top order with pace and momentum when they were reduced to 11 for 3 in the fourth over and there was no going back from there.

Siraj started by rushing Danushka Gunathilaka (0) with a short ball which he tried to pull but was only able to pull back onto the stumps.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *